Welcome to Chi Guy Entertainment

You got a problem??

This is the first post for the Chi Guy Entertainment Blog that I’ve been trying to get up and running for a while now. I am a rapper originally from Chicago and now living in Brooklyn. I started out writing rhymes in 7th grade when I was 12 years old in 2001. This was during the reign of Dr. Dre’s Chronic 2001. I remember going to the Up In Smoke Tour in NY (still one of the best concerts of all time) as a chubby little white kid completely bewildered by the smoke around me not really knowing what it was all about but on the real kind of knowing what it was all about.

The first CD I ever bought (I’m not ashamed to admit it) was Alanis Morissette’s Jagged Little Pill. I was really into alternative throughout the rest of the ’90’s. And I was finally brought into the hip hop world in the aftermath of Biggie’s death when P Diddy came out with P. Diddy and the Bad Boy Fam. That was the crossover album. Then I went back and listened to the beginnings of hip hop,  the classics of the early 90’s, and how the genre evolved over time. I fell in love with the power of this art form. The wittiness of the wordplay of East Coast style rappers like Biggie, Nas, and Jay-Z and groups like Outkast, and Wu-Tang inspired me to start writing raps myself.

The way my raps were in the beginning is embarrassing to me now, but really hillarious and definitely beyond my years in some ways. My voice was higher than most of the girls in my grade. But the flow was on point, ha. I’ll post some of my early stuff in a few days when I find the files.

Since then I have sculpted my craft into something I am proud of. I draw my inspiration from the rappers above mentioned as well as Weezy, Cee-lo, Early Eminem, Devin The Dude, Common, and Scarface. What I respect most is when somebody hits me with something powerful, which is hard to do, and then on top of that the flow is there too.

I have been recording for damn near 10 years now, mostly for my own entertainment, and I feel like it’s time to take it to the next level.

I have recorded two solo albums, and have been on many songs with the Wiggidies Crew from Chicago (http://myspace.com/wiggidiescrew). I recently quit my internship at BMI to give myself time to take a real shot at creating my music and letting people hear it. I am starting on two major projects to begin with. The first is a mixtape called The Classical Movement Mixtape. I’m paying tribute to two songs from each of five classic albums: Reasonable Doubt, Illmatic, Ready To Die, Southernplayasticadillacmuzik, and Iron Man. The second is a full album  (title TBA). I have already started working on both. Throughout the whole process I will be blogging the details of which services I use along the way, how effective they really are, how much everything costs, what equipment I use, etc. One of my missions aside from making head scratching music is to start a company that offers unsigned hip hop artists advice and helps them manage their growth so they don’t need a label. As I learn I feel that others should too.

I hope you ENJOY…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

