Making Moves Week 3 (pt. 2)

This week I focused on expanding upon the initial fan base I built during my first two weeks, and keeping my name on peoples’ minds by maintaining a steady flow of material. I’m planning a major music video project for “The One Who Got Away,” which is scheduled to shoot in a month. Props to Emmett Adler for directing the project, he’s got production team of film majors from BU helping out with the video. I’m hyped.

I’m also organizing a promotional campaign around my mixtape and album coming out in the next months. I’ve asked an old friend from Chicago who is skilled with Photoshop to design the material for the campaign. I’m planning on taking 50-60 photos this week and hope to have videos as well, all with a political theme around me running for Trash Man of Brooklyn.

Key moves:

Facebook Artist Page

  • My artist page has become the place where I acquire new fans and where I direct people I meet outside of facebook. Thanks to ReverbNation’s Band Profile app I have an easy and customizable way for fans to listen to music, and see photos, and videos. At the same time, it’s on facebook where everyone already has a profile (unlike ReverbNation, Myspace or Twitter).
  • The “like” button is very effective because people are making an effort to follow you and share it with their friends, yet they don’t have to go too far out of their way to click that they “like” an artist. It is much more meaningful than a Myspace friend or a Twitter follower to me.

Myspace

  • I use Myspace as a place to stream my music through my ReverbNation player, and view my feed. Other than that there is a lot of open space left over to promote my music, etc. I placed a banner linking back to my ReverbNation site, and I placed an ad for Headliner.fm that earns me band bucks to spend on promotions.

ReverbNation

  • I have been working on building up a solid email list, but for so many people I have as contacts on fb or elsewhere I don’t actually have their email addresses. Right now my list includes 40.
  • Networking with other artists on Reverb has been cool. Because I can listen to artists in NY who are at a similar chart position I feel like a few collabo’s may come out of this.

As for Twitter, I’ve kind of neglected it. No disrespect to Twitter, I’m just not as familiar with it, so I have been putting it off. I am definitely looking to get more tweetery going in the future though.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

