Making Moves – Social Network Updates and Future Plans

After using social networks as Trevor the Trash Man for about a year now I have really figured out what works for me, and what doesn’t. I know that I prefer using Facebook’s artist page above all as the landing site for my fans, though Facebook has its limitations in reach. I know that Twitter’s platform provides the best opportunity to reach new fans if I could only figure out how to use it better (I’m not super comfortable with the hashtags, but getting there). I have given up entirely on Myspace, yet I still update it with status updates through other sites. And ReverbNation is a nice hub of operations, but has provided me with few real opportunities even though I have tried some of their paid premium services for a few months now.

There is no substitute for meeting people face to face. You hear that a lot, but it’s really the truth. I am in the process of planning out a series of four shows with Chi Guy and BarrelHouse and every bit of progress we’ve made has come as a result of meeting people in the real world as oppose to on the Internet.

Future Plans

In my opinion, the average hip hop show I go to leaves a lot of room for improvement. For starters, the sound quality is usually off, and that alone has ruined some shows I’ve been to. Do people really like that much bass? I’m also sick of seeing the tired set up of the rapper with the hype man, and 20 of the rapper’s boys just standing around on stage.

Exhibit A: Waka

The better shows I’ve been to have had lights, dancers, entertainment – something visually appealing going on at all times. Incorporating live instruments into the mix at a hip hop show is also something I have long been a fan of. Yeah it’s a little more work, but it makes for a much better concert-going experience.

Exhibit B: The Experiment feat. Mos Def

For my next show (Date TBD) I am putting together a concert with some thought behind it. It will include video art, and a live band (which I am in the process of forming, called The Classical Movement).

As I mentioned in my previous post, I am in the process of putting out my first album as Trevor the Trash Man entitled The Classical Movement. I have an album’s worth of written material ready to be recorded and am learning how to produce so I can put my material on fresh beats rather than recycled old beats.

Also, check out the new Trevor the Trash Man logo. Designed by yours truly on my iPad.

Trevor the Trash Man Logo

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

